Eames Plastic Chair

by VitraBirsfelden

384 €

Buy Now

Why it is a must-have

'Getting the most of the best to the greatest number of people for the least': with these words, Charles and Ray Eames described one of their main goals as furniture designers. None of their other designs come as close to achieving this ideal as the Plastic Chairs. For years, the designer couple explored the fundamental idea of a one-piece seat shell moulded to fit the contours of the human body. After experiments with plywood and sheet aluminium in the 1940s produce unsatisfactory results, their search for alternative materials led them to glass-fibre reinforced polyester resin.


The Eames Plastic Chairs also introduced a new furniture typology that has since become widespread: the multifunctional chair whose shell can be joined with a variety of different bases to serve diverse purposes. As early as 1950, Charles and Ray Eames presented a series of bases that enabled various sitting positions. An especially striking model is the so-called Eiffel Tower base – an intricate and graceful design made of steel wire that inimitably combines light, elegant forms with structural strength.
The Eameses recognised and fully exploited the advantages of the material: mouldability, rigidity, pleasant tactile qualities, suitability for industrial manufacturing methods. With this material, which was previously unknown in the furniture industry, they successfully developed the shell designs for serial production. After their debut at the 'Low-Cost Furniture Design' competition organised by the Museum of Modern Art in 1948, the Plastic Armchair (A-shell) and Plastic Side Chair (S-shell) were launched on the market in 1950 as the very first mass-produced plastic chairs in the history of furniture.

More Details

Non-stacking base in solid wood, stained and lacquered finish, maple in different colours, ash in honey tone. Steel rod cross struts in basic dark. (DSW = Dining Height)

Vitra is a Swiss company dedicated to improving the quality of homes, offices and public spaces through the power of design.
Their products and concepts are developed in an intensive design process, which brings together our engineering excellence with the creative genius of leading international designers. It is their goal to create interiors, furniture and accessories that are functional and inspiring. Longevity of materials, construction and aesthetics is their leading principle, as demonstrated by their Classics – many in continuous production since the 1950s.

Chaise Eames Plastic

by VitraBirsfelden

384 €


J'achète

Pourquoi c'est un must-have

« Rendre le meilleur accessible au plus grand nombre », c'est ainsi que Charles et Ray Eames décrivirent l'un de leurs objectifs primordiaux en tant que créateurs de mobilier. Parmi leurs créations, aucune autre ne leur a permis de s'approcher autant de cet idéal que les Plastic Chairs. L’idée de créer une coque d’assise d'une seule pièce, adaptée à l’anatomie humaine préoccupa le couple de designers pendant de nombreuses années. Après que les expériences avec du contreplaqué et de la tôle d'aluminium n'aient pas abouti à des résultats satisfaisants dans les années 1940, ils découvrirent la résine de polyester renforcée de fibre de verre au cours de leur recherche de matériaux alternatifs.

Description

Les Eames reconnurent et exploitèrent pleinement les avantages de ce matériau : malléabilité, solidité, toucher agréable et aptitude à la transformation industrielle. Ce matériau, totalement inconnu à l’époque dans l’industrie du meuble, permit de développer des coques et de les parfaire jusqu’à la production en série. Après leur première présentation au concours « Low cost furniture design » organisé par le Museum of Modern Art en 1948, le Plastic Armchair (coque A) et le Plastic Side Chair (coque S) ont été lancés sur le marché en 1950, en tant que premiers sièges en plastique produits en série.
Les Eames Plastic Chairs ont également introduit une nouvelle typologie de meubles qui s'est depuis largement répandue : le siège multifonctionnel dont la coque peut être associée à une variété de piètements différents pour répondre à diverses fins. Dès 1950, Charles et Ray Eames présentèrent une série de piètements dédiés à différentes positions assises. Il convient de souligner tout particulièrement le piètement Tour Eiffel - une structure filigrane en fil d'acier qui se distingue par une combinaison inégalée de légèreté formelle et de stabilité constructive.

Détails

Piètement non empilable avec pieds en bois et croisillons en tube d’acier, basic dark. (DSW = Dining Height Side Chair Wood Base)

Vitra ne considère pas les designers comme de simples mandataires, mais comme des auteurs à part entière. Chez Vitra, les produits sont développés dans le cadre d'une relation de confiance ils sont le fruit d'une collaboration entre des auteurs issus du monde entier et un donneur d'ordre qui partage leurs ambitions.